Prosumer 2.0

The Digitalisation of the energy transition project discovered that the situation of energy consumers could drastically change in the mid-term. Regular consumers who currently do not do much more than check their annual statement could become active energy managers at a microlevel. This is because digital applications – especially machine learning and artificial intelligence in an Internet of Things context – will enable them to optimise the allocation between their own energy requirements and the respective amount of energy generated.

 

dynamis wants to set up a lab to conduct an experiment to find out which consumers are prepared to make use of these opportunities and to what extent and in what way. The experiment is currently being developed.

 

The experiment will look at the following:

 

  • holistic consideration of energy that crosses sector boundaries, especially the one between the heating and electricity sectors, and in later step the electromobility sector,
  • networking of all energy consumption devices,
  • mapping of the respective on-site energy situation in the distribution network, which will then act as the basis for the payment of system service-related energy consumption behaviour,
  • and above all, a smart client that acts as a location for machine learning and artificial intelligence.

 

Up to 600 households will be asked to test out the smart clients in their everyday actions. They can use the smart clients to set their specific consumption preferences for both electricity and heating. An algorithm in the smart client uses these preferences as the basis to decide how they can be best implemented.

 

This means the smart client will become the epicentre for locally optimising the matching of consumption and power generation as well as electricity taken from the grid.

 

An experiment will be carried out over several months to test the use of the smart client in the everyday lives of the selected households’ occupants. The resulting contribution to climate protection will also be evaluated.

Prosumer 2.0

Das Projekt Digitalisierung der Energiewende hat herausgefunden, dass sich die Situation der Energieverbraucher mittelfristig radikal verändern könnte: Aus einfachen Verbrauchern, deren Rolle sich heute darin erschöpft, die Jahresabrechnung zu prüfen, könnten aktive Energie-Manager auf einer Mikroebene werden. Denn digitale Anwendungen – insbesondere Machine Learning und Künstliche Intelligenz in einem Internet-of-Things-Kontext – werden es ihnen erlauben, die Optimierung der Allokation zwischen ihrem eigenen Energiebedarf und der jeweiligen Erzeugung selbst vorzunehmen.

 

In einem Lab will dynamis herausfinden, welche Verbraucher bis zu welchen Grad und auf welche Weise bereit sind, von diesen Möglichkeiten Gebrauch zu machen. Das Lab befindet sich derzeit in der Entwicklung.

 

Folgende Elemente sollen das Lab auszeichnen:

 

  • eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung von Energie, die Sektorgrenzen, insbesondere die zwischen Wärme und Elektrizität, in einem späteren Schritt auch die zur Elektromobilität überschreitet,
  • eine Vernetzung aller Energieverbrauchsgeräte,
  • eine Abbildung der jeweiligen Energiesituation im Verteilnetz vor Ort, die als Grundlage für die Belohnung von systemdienstliche Energieverbrauchsverhalten dient,
  • und vor allem ein Smart Client als Ort des Machine Learning und der Künstlichen Intelligenz.

Bis zu 600 Haushalte werden gebeten, die Smart Clients in ihrem Alltagshandeln zu Hause auszuprobieren. Über die Smart Clients können sie ihre spezifische Verbrauchspräferenzen, sowohl was Elektrizität als auch Wärme, angeht, bekunden. Im Smart Client läuft auf dieser Basis ein Algorithmus ab, der entscheidet, wie die Präferenzen bestmöglich bedient werden können.

 

Auf diese Weise wird der Smart Client zum Herz und Hirn der lokalen Optimierung des Matchings von Verbrauch und eigener Stromerzeugung bzw. der aus dem Netz entnommener Elektrizität.

 

In einem mehrmonatigen Experiment werden die Anwendung des Smart Clients im Alltagsleben der ausgewählten Haushaltsbewohner getestet, und der resultierende Beitrag zum Klimaschutz wird bewertet.

 

Ansprechpartner: René Mono